Skip to content

Celebrity one-night stand: who would you pick?

You know the game – you’re at a party, having drinks with friends, or have just turned to your spouse with a glint in your eye: “So, if you were to get a free pass to get together with any celebrity, no strings attached, who would it be?”

This came up at in a crowded kitchen recently at a friend’s party. The women lost no time in throwing out names – Ryan Gosling, Daniel Craig (the new James bond), Brad Pitt, George Clooney, Angelina Jolie… The men in the kitchen wisely said nothing.

“Who would you pick?” someone asked me.

My first thought was – an endocrinologist, RN, or CDE who can handle Type 1 and take night watch out our place.
That makes a threesome – oh, baby.

Explaining all this was a bit much, I wisely realized, so – what did I really say?

“Leonard Nimoy.” I had a thing for Spock as a kid, and this was the first thing that came to mind.
Social filter wasn’t working quite as well as I thought.

“Ewwwwwww!” groaned the entire kitchen.

“Uh, not now – 30 years ago!” I tried, but really – what can you say at that point?

Should’ve gone with the medically-competent threesome.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. moiramcc #

    bahahahahahaa!! Great one!

    May 10, 2012
  2. Courtney #

    As if we had the time or energy to “get with” anyone let alone a celeberty. Funny! I thought ewwwe too. I had a thing for the Duke boys as a kid. ; ) Now I would take that Endo. Haha. Thanks for making me laugh today.

    May 10, 2012
  3. Jessica Pankov #

    Maybe we can find you a hot endocrinologist for your list!

    May 11, 2012
  4. ahahah love it! what about that hot diabetic chef sam talbot, he’d be good in both regards i imagine. 😉

    also lol @ your faulty social filter! 🙂 i don’t judge your nimoy affection one bit!

    May 11, 2012
    • Sam Talbot – yes! He could take night watch AND make us all breakfast in the morning! (OK – and look pretty in the kitchen.)

      May 12, 2012
  5. Bahahahahahaha! Oh man… That was awesome. Spock! I too have to make sure my social filter is on at all times lest I embarrass the crap out of my husband.

    May 16, 2012
  6. I was going to say Sam Talbot too, although in his cookbook he mentions that he uses 1200 test strips each month so he might not be very attentive to the other participants in the scenario OR his editor chose a proofreader who doesn’t know anything about diabetes, which would distract me from the task at hand. Moving on. Good morning, Sam! LEMON RICOTTA PANCAKES, please.

    May 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

