Skip to content

Rufus, Meet Jerry!

If you got a Bag of Hope, you got Rufus, complete with medi alert bracelet and patches that newly diagnosed kids can practice shots on. Rufus made me cry when we got him, but so did everything at that point.

Well, move over Rufus – now there’s Jerry!

I just heard about this modern T1 bear on the Daily Good – he still has the patches but also has a CGM, food you can feed him (and I’m guessing see the impact), and the best thing – he’s still in testing, and you can sign up to be a tester! 🙂 The site has some great pictures and quotes of kids who’ve already tried Jerry out.

I signed up and hope we get a chance – I’m curious to see if Luke takes to Jerry better than Rufus.

We tried to get Luke to do a set on Rufus, and he started crying, “No, it hurts!” (He does enjoy practicing on Mom – Dad, for some reason, hasn’t volunteered yet.)

Has anyone tried this bad bear out yet?

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for the info…we signed up too!

    March 30, 2012
  2. Thanks for sharing. I hope Luke likes Jerry!

    March 30, 2012
  3. Hello!
    Thank you so much for the lovely post! We can’t wait to have Luke play with Jerry soon!

    -Hannah from Jerry the Bear

    March 31, 2012
  4. wow, that looks really cool! my kid isn’t the right age, but i’d be so happy to try one out if she was! thanks for sharing. let us know what luke thinks!

    April 18, 2012
  5. Very interesting idea, about Jerry! We’ll see how Jerry the Bear fares against Roche’s Rufus and Medtronic’s Lenny… certainly a market where there’s a need!! They didn’t have those cool stuffed animals when I was growing up after my diagnosis at five, so I had to come up with my own stuffed animals to subject to shots and tests along with me. At least I had “a friend” to go through the D-Life stuff with me!

    May 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

