Skip to content

Happy Valentine’s to My Medical Job Sharer (uh, husband)

Happy V Day, my light, my life, my medical job sharer! (I wrote last year’s Valentine to the Dex – maybe I’m finally getting priorities back in order!)

You know that the sexiest words ever are “Don’t worry, I’ll take watch tonight.”

You forgive me over and over for snapping at you in the middle of the night, “What? You gave him a full correction at midnight?!” and “Why didn’t you raise the basal?!” and “Why didn’t you give 2 ounces of juice instead of one?!” and “Everything’s fine – I just hate mother @#$%^ diabetes!”

You still claim I’m sexy, even though most mornings I look, act, and smell like a honey badger. (Before work – I still hold down a job, somehow.)

And while I take most nights, you’ve shouldered the emotional burden and brought me up, time and again, when I know despair was hitting you just as hard.

We had our hearts broken together on the same day in 2009, and all the bourbon and insulin in the world can’t quite put any of us back together again.

But – we still have our beautiful boy, even if we haven’t managed to leave the newborn schedule of broken nights behind.

And we have a network of incredible people dealing and living with the same.

And somehow we still have each other. Let’s keep our eyes on that nursing home prize together! 😉

All my love – your fellow pancreant.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love it!

    February 14, 2012
  2. Kelly #

    So wonderful! I can totally relate to all of this and more….especially never leaving the newborn schedule of broken nights behind! Happy Valentine’s Day.

    February 14, 2012
  3. Courtney #

    Again, brillantly written!! And once again what you write hits home here with the Merideth Family.

    Luke is truely blessed to have you both!!

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. They really help us to feel less alone!

    Happy V D, oops that sounds bad. Haha like we need another disease to deal with. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    February 14, 2012
  4. Denise #

    Love it!

    February 14, 2012
  5. Happy Valentine’s Day (a day late)!

    February 15, 2012
  6. aw, this was so sweet! happy belated v day to you guys! 🙂

    February 16, 2012
  7. Sue & PHileo #

    Happy belated to one of our favorite couples–We admire your strength, courage, love & commitment. Plus we think you are both just plain COOL! 🙂

    February 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

