Skip to content

Sugar Bolus Giveaway – Not Dead Yet

If you haven’t read Phil Southerland’s “Not Dead Yet,” here’s your chance to get a free copy (plus the free time to read it – hah!)!

As parent to a kiddo diagnosed at a tender age (14 months), I’d been wanting to read Phil’s story in part because he was diagnosed at 7 months – the youngest case on record at that time.  When Luke was diagnosed, we were told his life wouldn’t be shortened much by diabetes. Joanna Southerland was told her son would be dead or severely disabled by blindness and kidney disease by twenty five. You’ve got to love a title that flips the bird to the doctors behind that diagnosis.

If Phil did OK, I felt, so would Luke. “OK” in Phil’s case meant becoming one of the top long-distance cyclists in the world, competing in the Race Across America (a  3,000-mile non-stop relay race across the country), and founding Team Type 1 (the 2012 Tour de France needs them!). Through all of that, he surprised himself by evolving into an advocate and role model for Type 1 diabetics.

It seems people rarely walk away from an encounter with Phil or his indefatigable mother untouched, and just meeting them on the page was no exception. I read the book in one sitting, thanks to a weekend getaway girlfriends organized to Hat Island in Puget Sound. (I did not Photoshop the sun into this picture – it was really there! It was!)

Instead of kicking down the shore, looking for bald eagles and seals, I settled in with the book and occasionally came up for the view before diving back in. (Hey, what else would you do with friends on a gorgeous island besides read a book about Type 1 diabetes?)

Phil and his mother made me reconsider our T1 management on several fronts:

  • When Phil was dianosed, Joanna invited friends and neighbors over for wine, cheese, and “Diabetes 101” instruction. She didn’t ask if they wanted to learn: it was part of life now, and people around Phil needed to know how to deal with it.
    We haven’t done this. Aside from a few people who practically pried the glucose meter out of our hands and demanded we teach them, we have not forcibly armed family or friends with the basics – or reassured them that “you can do this.” I think it’s time!
  • Phil had all the space and freedom I remember having as a kid. He lived on his bike and rode until dark – without CGMs or cell phones. I think we recognize generally that today’s kids have lost the freedom to be bored, to have long, unscripted summers to noodle around and try things out – but it really struck me how that freedom put Phil squarely in charge of his T1. He took ownership at an early age. I want to figure out how we can let Luke do that (setting aside the very urban nature of our neighborhood).
  • His passion for riding made the pain-in-the-arse grind of diabetes management worthwhile (and let him eat Snickers). Luke will need a Snickers-worthy passion.
  • Phil is very open about his T1 and very good at telling them what he needs (his mom set a great example) if/when he goes low, and it has saved his life on many occasions. Luke will need to be this up-front – and as a T1 friend of Erik’s has noted with a sh#%*-eathing grin, it will get him chicks, who love a strong man with a hidden vulnerability.

To enter the giveaway – leave me a comment before midni1ght on Thursday, August 11. Include your first name (I can’t ship a book to “anonymous”!).
To earn extra entries (post a separate comment for each):
       ●  Tweet about this giveaway on Twitter, and leave me an additional comment. 
       ●  Share a link to this contest on Facebook, and leave an additional comment here to let me know.
       ●  Blog about this contest, and post a link to your blog here.
       ●  Subscribe to my blog via WordPress or email.
Winners will be selected via random draw at http://www.random.org/,  and names will be posted here on this blog on Friday, August 12. After winners’ names are posted, winners will have 48 hours to send a message to me at krisfitz (at) live (dot) com. If I do not hear from the winner within 48 hours, I will select a new winner.

And then – head over to Candy Hearts, where Wendy’s hosting the next Sugar Bolus giveaway on August 12!

29 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jen #

    Count me in!

    August 5, 2011
  2. Courtney #

    Zachary’s mommy, Courtney, would love a book.

    August 5, 2011
  3. Please include me. Can you believe he could just ride around freely without a cgm! Wow!

    August 5, 2011
  4. congrats on your weekend away! and thanks for including those bits from the book, i am definitely intrigued. sign me up!

    August 5, 2011
  5. (Don’t enter me in the giveaway because I already have a copy, just wanted to leave a comment.)

    I’m currently reading this book. What’s bad is that I have cried on several occasions on my lunch break at the park! It’s inspiring that he accomplishes so much. Love what a good role model he is!

    August 5, 2011
    • Seriously – his diagnosis story was hard to read. His mom is made of steel! (Aren’t we all? ;))

      August 5, 2011
  6. I don’t need the book…but I wanted to tell you that I loved, it too. Having an avid t1d biker husband made me read it differently, also. It was an incredible story to read as a parent of a cwd, too…I am thankful for his story it definitely boosted me up in a dry spot with this ever unpredictable disease. I’m glad you’re giving one away because I know it will benefit the reader in so many ways 🙂

    August 5, 2011
  7. I don’t have the book and would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to be entered for it. Thank You.

    August 6, 2011
  8. Melissa #

    Would love to have/read this book as a mom with a newly diagnosed Type 1 child!

    August 6, 2011
  9. I’ve never read it, but would love to!!!!

    August 8, 2011
  10. I’ve been meaning to get this one. I’m in. 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  11. This book sounds really good! I’d love to be entered in the contest. Thank you!

    August 8, 2011
  12. I shared your giveaway on Twitter! https://twitter.com/#!/MommaGodiva

    August 8, 2011
  13. Anna #

    Roxy’s mom, Anna, would love to read this. BTW: Roxy was diagnosed at 21 months and is now 3.

    August 8, 2011
    • Awww – Luke’s 3 now as well. Great to see them healthy, but still hard sometimes.

      August 13, 2011
  14. I’m delighted to discover your blog! And I would be thrilled to win a copy of the book!

    August 8, 2011
  15. This one is on my list to read… sign me up please 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  16. Subcribed 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  17. Facebooked 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  18. Tweet Tweet @rockindmom

    August 8, 2011
  19. Would LOVE to win this…
    it’s been on my ‘to read’ list

    August 8, 2011
  20. Posted to facebook 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  21. Dawn Reckers #

    Very interested in reading his book. I haven’t found the courage to do many of the things you mentioned. I need to read about things going well for a type 1 diabetic, because lately all I read are about complications & deaths. Scared for my daughter

    August 8, 2011
  22. You wrote a beautiful review. I want Matthew to have freedom and take ownership. And eat more snickers. Hahaha….

    I posted on fb. Hope I win!

    August 8, 2011
  23. Did a tweet too!

    August 8, 2011
  24. Yes, please email me w/some local get togethers! And yes we should exchange tips, Im all for it! Lisa

    August 9, 2011
  25. I’ve never heard of this man, but would love to read the book and learn more about him.

    August 9, 2011
  26. posted on FB & tweeted it as well. 🙂

    August 9, 2011
  27. Hello! I tried to subscribe to your blog, but the link seems to be broken. Any advice? Thanks! 🙂

    August 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

