Skip to content

Bad Santa

I always thought having kids made you a better person – you learn patience and selflessness, you realize you share a common bond with much of the planet, and you finally realize how much your parents put up with. Raising a kid with a physical/mental challenge is supposed to make you even more saintly.

You want a pancre-what for Christmas?

I have not noticed this. Raising a toddler with T1D has made me cranky, thin-skinned, and even more OCD than before. It has, however, put me in touch with my inner bad Santa:

  • Luke complains that his site/set is itchy and hurts, but I won’t change it, because this one actually WORKS.
  • I give him extra helpings of dessert, because by God – my kid may have diabetes, but he CAN have sugar!
  • Easter turns into a cascade of presents, because God knows – my kid doesn’t need the extra sugar!
  • I play the D card in a restaurant in order to get my my child’s dinner brought quickly.
  • Luke gets to stay up late and watch TV while sucking down apple juice (hello, BG 50) from a bottle/stay up late dancing to the Gorillaz (hello, BG 329)
  • The Dex beeps, but I ignore it to catch the end of Breaking Bad/snooze for another 30 min./finish a blog post/ahem

Come back August 5 for this week’s Sugar Bolus giveaway – Not Dead Yet!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Courtney #

    Love this! Who is “they” who says parenting is suppose to make you more saintly. Our friend tells his kids, “mommy used to smiled, smiled all the time, but she doesn’t smile now.”. He saw a pic of me prekids and said, wow, Courtney used to smile too. Thank you for your honesty and humor!!!!!

    August 2, 2011
    • Sounds like a British friend who drily tells his kids how happy he was before children (he adores them, of course). 🙂 I do see a lot more gray hair in our pics, post-dx…!

      August 3, 2011
  2. Ha Saintly!? Sounds like you are doing a great job!

    August 3, 2011
    • Reyna, you’re amazing – you make the rounds of all blogs and still have time to write great posts – do you ever sleep? (Oh wait – you have T1 in the family! ;))

      August 3, 2011
  3. Jen #

    mwhahahahaha! very funny Kristin!! Looking forward to the giveaway..I have been wanting to read that book. btw..put the 18th of this month on your calendar for the next parents night out!

    August 3, 2011
  4. so relating to all of this. i blame the cranky on the sleep deprivation.

    as for the itchy site, have you tried putting ice on it? that helps my kid sometimes.

    ho ho ho!

    August 3, 2011
    • Hmm – will have to try that one, thanks!

      August 3, 2011
  5. Piao Xue #

    I cry when I am reading. I feel your pain. You spelled out my pain, too. Mine doesn’t have diabetes but he is a very challenge one.

    It has been so long and I do not know why. I kept asking myself why I was so cranky all the time? I asked my husband to read your blog, too.

    Thank you, and take care

    September 3, 2011

Leave a Reply

