Skip to content

When the ‘betes gets me down, I go looking for hope in technology (a bias from working in IT, I realize)…

Breathalizers, contact lenses, tattoos, nanotechnology, smart insulin, immunology – bring it on!

And – who says medical devices have to be clunky? A little design sense, please! Watches, charms, phone apps… DiabetesMine™ puts on a yearly Design Challenge to spur on design ideas, including a kids category.

That said, I’m off to listen to the JDRF artificial pancreas Q&A. A person can always dream…

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Monica #

    Hey Kristin, I followed the link from your profile page and saw this. I remember when my brother was diagnosed, way back in 75 when I was 7 and he was 5. Even then I saw my parents’ reaction to it. So I wonder if you are feeling the same way as you create this web page. Anyway, it would be great to hear from you. Love, Monica

    January 28, 2010
  2. I love techy gadgets too!

    My issue is that I’m a Mac and our pump is a PC. But I’m thinking of getting a netbook so I can download our data.

    If only my iPhone could check her BG and give a bolus, lol!

    January 31, 2010
    • We have a Mac along with a couple laptops and were annoyed to find that the Animus software wouldn’t download on it, either.
      Seriously – with all the parents of kids with type 1, wouldn’t it be great to have their BG sent (by text/in an app) throughout the day, with an option to administer a bolus remotely? Would help, with the lack of support in some schools.
      You’ve pulled together a lot of resources and info. on D-Mom blog – and the weekly profiles are great. 🙂

      February 1, 2010

Leave a Reply

